Red Green in my hometown, of all places.

There he is. Red Green signing none other than a roll of duct tape. 3M Scotch Tough Duct tape, that is.

It was a gorgeous Sunday afternoon. The sun was shining, the breeze was nice, and the duct tape was selling well. Welcome, Red Green, to Carroll, Iowa.

From 3-5 at Bomgaars here in town, Red Green, the popular handyman played by Steve Smith, signed autographs and took pictures with the hundreds of fans who turned out. This was his only stop en route to his live comedy show in Des Moines that night.

This post is being brought to you by 3M Scotch Tough Duct Tape.

OK not really, but Red Green’s appearance was. He was set up near the front door of the Bomgaars store with boxes upon boxes of none other than 3M’s Tough Duct Tape. Apparently it doesn’t leave residue, even when baked in an oven, but I wasn’t willing to spend $6.99 on a roll of duct tape.

Nonetheless, it was pretty cool of 3M to pick this medium sized Western Iowa town of just over 10,000 people to have Red Green appear in.

I’ve been a fan of the Red Green Show for many years and I’ve got duct tape wallets, pictures of my younger brother and I dressed up as him (from 2003 I believe?), and a video of my cousin and I playing the Possum Lodge word game. When I heard Red Green was going to stop in our town, I was pretty excited. However, I took Red’s advice, and I kept my stick on the ice and I advise you to do the same.

Thanks to having to leave for work, my 2 hour wait in line did not end in me meeting him. My brother and cousin stayed and got his autograph for me though. This is as close as I came to actually meeting him. 🙂

Check out Red Green on FacebookTwitter and check out his official website.

Leave a Reply

