Morningside McMustangs

I have come to that stage in my life where college is on the horizon. I’ve graduated high school and have selected the college that I will attend. And that is Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa.

If my brief history at Morningside is any indication, I am going to enjoy the next four years of my life. You may be thinking I’m talking about academics, opportunities, lifestyle changes, meeting new people, or something else. Now while I am extremely excited about everything that Morningside has to offer, this blog post is really not about these things at all.

Morningside College’s mascot is the Mustang, so you may be wondering why I included “McMustang” in this post, but then again you may know enough about me that this is a no-brainer to you.

I am a huge Jamie McMurray fan, which shouldn’t come as to much of a surprise to you if you’re familiar with me, my blog, or my twitter, but that is indeed where the “Mc” comes from here.

I’m not simply combining my college with my favorite NASCAR driver as it may seem, but I feel there is a strong connection between the two. Sort of.

This past Friday (June 4), I participated in the first of four registration days at Morningside. I registered for my fall semester classes, received information about paying for college, toured campus, and continued meeting great people, among other things.

On the way home, I stopped in Sac City at the coolest NASCAR store I have ever been to (granted, I have only been to two, but this one has memorabilia at very affordable prices and a great variety of products) and I bought the official 2010 Bass Pro Shops Jamie McMurray hat. Now this may seem like a load of useless knowledge, but you’ll see what I’m getting at if you continue reading.

Now I’m going to go back a few months to mid February. February 12th was the last time I was on Morningside’s campus as I drove to Sioux City to participate in a scholarship day and attempt to earn money from the college to help offset college costs (you should know what scholarships are, so I won’t go in any more detail about that). I stayed with a friend and he gave me a great view of what college at Morningside would be like and we spent time on the air of the campus radio station, 92.9 KMSC or Fusion 93, which if you know me at all, was certainly a highlight of the day as I will be on that station this fall.

I left campus on that Friday, February 12 and proceeded home with a new wealth of knowledge regarding my future. Not only was I a very happy camper due to meeting some great people and getting a sneak peak at college life, along with earning some wonderful scholarships, this trip was a precursor to an even better weekend.

Before I made it home that Friday, I stopped at the NASCAR shop in Sac City and bought a Jamie McMurray #26 hat as they hadn’t yet received any of his new merchandise. This turned out to be quite the coincidence as the following Sunday showed.

On Sunday February 14, I witnessed Jamie McMurray win the Daytona 500 in his first start with his new-old car owner, Chip Ganassi. As he rocketed to the front of the pack at the end of the race, I cheered him on from my living room. As he led, I screamed. As he lost the lead, I cussed. As he crossed the finish line as the winner, tears of joy came to my eyes as I screamed at the top of my lungs in celebration. Jamie McMurray had not only won the biggest race of his life, he had proven that with the right opportunity and perseverance, one could overcome anything.

In February, I visited Morningside, bought a Jamie McMurray hat, and he won the following race. On June 4, I visited Morningside, bought a McMurray hat, and the race tomorrow will tell me if I possess a bit of voodoo-ism, or I am simply crazy. McMurray and his #1 Bass Pro Shops Chevy will roll off 18th in the race at Pocono and I will cheer him on while wearing my newly purchased hat, as I did on February 14.
Jamie hasn’t necessarily had the most impressive car this weekend or isn’t exactly known for being an expert at Pocono, but then again, who thought he would win the Daytona 500 in his first race back at Earnhardt Ganassi Racing? Who would have thought that he would come to Pocono with 3 second place finishes in the past 5 races? Who would have thought that he would be on the verge of breaking back into the top 12 in points and solidifying himself as a contender for the Chase? Who would have thought that a simple coincidence exists between a NASCAR driver from Missouri, a teenager from western Iowa, and a small private college in northwest Iowa?

We will all find out soon.

Leave a Reply

