This 18.27 Year Old Would Rather Be Watching Conan O’Brien

Everyone looks forward to turning 18. Becoming an adult, more independence, the ability to buy cigarettes (this is not something you should be proud to do), buy “adult” things, and even get into some bars. Then there are people like me.

For my 18th birthday, the biggest change I made in life was creating a legal ebay account. I had been buying off ebay for a few years, but now I do it legally. 🙂

After just over three months of being 18, I’m made many purchases on ebay, mostly consisting of CDs, but there is quite a bit of other stuff sprinkled in as well.

I started buying things on ebay about 3 years when I bought a refurbished 1st generation Zune in November of 2007. I consider that Zune to be my best purchase ever as it was cheap than buying from somewhere else and it’s still running strong. Once I get my new computer I plan on upgrading to the new Zune HD (I don’t do iPods. At all) and there’s a good chance I’ll look to ebay for that also.

I also bought “REO Speedwagon Soundstage: Live In The Heartland” on ebay when it was released in August of 2008. I became an REO fan in July of ’08 as I happened to see that concert on TV one night. The rest, as they say, is history (and there may be a blog coming as this Sunday will mark my two year anniversary of being an REO Speedwagon fan).

As an REO fan, ebay has come in very handy in adding to my collection of their albums and memorabilia, but I’ll get to that later.

These are in no particular order, but these are most of the things I’ve bought from ebay in the past 3 months.

– “got reo speedwagon?” decal for my car

– 2010 Daytona 500 champion, Jamie McMurray decal

– “The Essential REO Speedwagon Live” DVD – filmed in St. Louis, 2000

– Mark McGuinn CD – “One Man’s Crazy”

-Handheld FM radio/weather radio/scanner/ham radio transceiver – I bought this one for 25 bucks, but the shipping from Hong Kong was nearly 55. Great deal though.

– Two REO Speedwagon CDs – “Life as We Know It” and “You Can Tune a Piano But You Can’t Tuna Fish”

– Dozens of Jamie McMurray trading cards

– Cheap Trick’s “Greatest Hits” CD

– Night Ranger’s “Greatest Hits” CD

– The Police – “Every Breath You Take” Greatest hits CD

– REO Speedwagon t-shirt that should be arriving in the next few days

That may not be everything I’ve bought, but it’s a majority. And as you can obviously tell, these are all very crucial and necessary 😉

As I wrap up this somewhat meaningless blog post, I am waiting on an auction to close that I am currently the highest bidder for. It’s a window decal that says:

“I’d rather be watching Conan O’Brien”

So true. And once I’m 18 and 8 months old, I will be able to do that once again. His new show will debut on TBS on Monday, November 8th at 11/10c, so you should definitely tune in.

Until then, feel free to look around on ebay for things you may be interested in. Even if you’re not quite 18.

Leave a Reply

